Tags

, , , , ,

It takes two to make a marriage,” was the words I heard that were meant to ridicule me for the way I had treated my marriage. And in fact, those words did strike a nerve with me. Those words did remind me of how much I had failed my marriage. I was the one who still wanted to be married, but I really had no idea what it took to “make a marriage.”  

For me, as long as I worked to provide and come home every night to my wife and children, that qualified me as a good husband. As long as I would stay committed to never leave my family, that qualify me as a good husband.

I didn’t physically abuse my wife and kids, I didn’t gamble, I didn’t abuse drugs or alcohol. In all the ways that I observed other people’s marriages failing, I made sure to not make those mistakes. My dream was to stay married for life and as far as I knew, I was doing things the way I should.

It actually took a few more years and a fourth trip down the road of nearly loosing my marriage before I finally started to understand what it took for “two to make a marriage.”

  • I learned that love is something we should show and not just say. My wife has a love language and I had to learn how to speak it. 
  • I learned that a marriage requires nourishment. It should always be growing and never to be a  place where we have arrived.                                         
  • I learned that it was ok for us to be different in many ways. Our differences are there to compliment each other, not to combat each other.                    
  • I learned that marriage is about oneness, a fusion of what use to be two people and has now become one. A single identity that we both share.                         

Marriage is not what we do – it is who we are. If I were to lose my wife today, I would not only lose the woman I love, I would also lose who we are together.

Easy step number one: Don’t quit, a great marriage is just ahead.        Easy step number two: Give up your singleness and be joined together.

For prayer request, or more information on our ministry, just simply fill out the email contact form.       

To follow us by receiving an email to notify you of our latest blog, just hit the follow us button, top right, and follow the instructions.

